Finding God in the Garden

Spring is here even in Alaska, although for practical, gardening purposes it’s still pretty much winter out there; nothing sprouting except plastic flowers. For those who enjoy gardening it’s time to peruse the seed catalogues and think about what we’ll plant this year. Today’s devotional compares our hearts to a garden. What’s growing in your garden? What do you need to weed out and get rid of?

 

img_3038

“When springtime rolls around, it’s hard for me not to write about my favorite season. Visions of pink and blue hydrangeas, white gardenias, yellow daylilies, coral heuchera, and purple petunias dance in my head. Every year I save up for colorful replacements or new varieties.

There are some things about this time of year, however, that can destroy its beauty–if I let it.

You guessed it: weeds. You can tell by this picture in my backyard garden that some flowers are blooming. But most of those green shoots covering the ground and invading the good plants? Weeds! Unfortunately, just like most of the plants in my gardens, those weeds are perennial.

The sun may eventually kill the shallow ones, though my garden is mostly shady. And mulch will cover up some of the green invaders. But only for a while. Others will soon take their place. If I let them grow wild and don’t pull them out as soon as they pop up, they will soon choke out the beauty and the fragrance of my garden.

Finding God in the Garden

That’s true of my spiritual garden as well. Think about these areas of life and the power of read more

Leave a Reply

