Joy in the Stillness

When I was younger I worked in a place where even if you didn’t have anything to do you had to look like you were doing something. It seems our culture is obsessed with being constantly busy. If you’re not busy you’re not productive and if you’re not being productive you’re wasting time. Today’s devotional pulls us up short in our mad rush and offers a different way.

Be still, and know that I am God. — Psalm 46:10 (NIV) For as long as I can remember, I’ve been a high-energy, ambitious person. When I was a little girl, my idea of a great time was to start with an idea, create something with my hands, and follow it through to the end. I made lemonade stands in my driveway and elaborate Barbie mansions out of my mom’s old perfume boxes. I put on plays with my cousins (complete with refreshments and playbills). I was full speed ahead all the time, working and worrying, trying, creating, and adventuring.

It’s no wonder my grandmother used to tell me Ia href=’http://www.faithgateway.com/joy-in-the-stillness/’ title=’Read more’ …/a

Source: Joy in the Stillness

Leave a Reply

