Making a Difference

Today’s devotional, reposted from Holley Gerth, reminds us of some welcome news: we don’t have to be all things to all people. Read along with us and find out a simpler way to go about making a difference in people’s lives.

“I’m a fan of the Happier podcast by author Gretchen Rubin and her sister Elizabeth Craft. In a very special episode they asked listeners this question,“What is the best advice you’ve ever received?” The responses spanned from work to parenting to household hints. But one stood out to me above the rest.

A music therapist shared how early in her career working with clients, she’d told a supervisor she felt discouraged about not making as much of a difference as she’d hoped. The supervisor simply said this: “You can’t be a therapist to everyone but you can be a therapist to someone.”

As I listened to this my own version of the same sentence instantly popped into my mind. “You can’t be an encourager to everyone but you can be an encourager to someone.” In that instant I let out a sigh of relief and felt some of the tension slip from my shoulders.

You can create your own version of this sentence too…

I can’t be a ___________ to everyone but I can be a ___________ to someone.What would you write there—friend, leader, mentor, counselor, teacher?

Whatever it is I’m convinced it matters. And that trying to do this for all means read more

(c) 2016 Holley Gerth Used with Permission holleygerth.com

Leave a Reply

