The Best Time to Help Others

No more procrastination or excuses. The best time to reach out and help others is now. Today’s devotional, reposted from Holley Gerth,  gives some very good advice to those of us who never quite feel ready enough.

“I’m an amateur eavesdropper. I often work in coffee shops where conversations swirl around me as thick as the scent of espresso. Most of the time I’m able to tune them out but sometimes one makes my head snap up from my laptop. I’ve heard scandalous confessions of love, details of doctor’s appointments and workplace Helping-Otherscomplaints of all sorts. This morning I found myself the recipient of some unsolicited wisdom.

A young man and his mentor sat next to me talking about faith. Apparently they’ve been meeting awhile because the young man asked, “When am I going to be ready to help someone else?”

The mentor paused and then answered, “I think you’re asking the wrong question. Because as long as you ask ‘Am I ready?’ then you’ll always be able to find a reason you’re not. A flaw. A struggle. Something you think you need to learn more about. The better question to ask is, ‘Have I read more

(c) 2016 Holley Gerth Used with Permission holleygerth.com

Leave a Reply

