Really Forgiven

Today’s devotional, reposted from Holley Gerth, comforts us with a reminder and a word picture of how complete God’s forgiveness is. It’s easy to mentally assent to that truth, but it’s another thing to believe and be convinced of it in your heart of hearts. Let this truth sink in and buoy you up on your way today.

 

You will again have compassion on us;
    you will hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea. {Micah 6:19}

“I walk along a stretch of beach as the sun plays hide-and-seek behind clouds along the horizon. My toe brushes against something and I pause to pick up a piece of driftwood. I run my fingers along the slick edge of its surface worn smooth by time and sand and the pounding of waves.

unrelenting-e1470075700381I wonder who else has touched it. Maybe it was tossed into the water by a carefree child in a pink striped swimsuit. Perhaps a lover threw it in anger after a stroll on the beach turned into a tiff. It might have been swept away before a tail-wagging dog could retrieve it.

I toss it lightly into the surf only to have it come rolling back to me again. I lean back and pretend I’m a baseball pitcher. This doesn’t lead to a better result and may have inspired a few giggles from fellow tourists. At last I give up and surrender it to the sand where it stares up at me each time I revisit this stretch of loveliness.

I think of how God talks about hurling our sins into the sea and I wonder if it’s like this somehow. What if we think they’re gone but when the tide comes in there they are again? It can certainly feel this way in my mind sometimes.

But when I look at the verse where God says this I find I have left out a very important part. It doesn’t just say our sins go into the sea; it says God throws them into the depths of the sea (Micah 7:19).

The deepest part of the ocean is read more

(c) 2016 Holley Gerth Used with permission holleygerth.com

Leave a Reply

