Between a Rock and a Hard Place

Today’s devotional, reposted from Rebecca Barlow’s blog, will encourage your heart with reminders of God’s faithfulness when you’re going through hard places.

“Most of us have experienced times that leave us hanging between a rock and a hard place: times of confusion, fear, sorrow, loneliness. Relationships may fail; precious dreams die. Winters appear bleak; answers won’t come. Our circumstances vary, but we all go through them.

In those times I’ve learned to rehearse some things about God, times when Jesus has walked with me, held my hand,

img_4819

img_4819

and brought me through the hard places. Here are 12 things I can remember that keep me from being discouraged. And this list is only a small portion of what I’ve recorded in my memory bank from Jesus’s track record of faithfulness:

When I was confused, Jesus offered peace.

When I was lost, Jesus rescued me.

When I was afraid, Jesus gave me courage.

When I needed a home, Jesus adopted me.

When I was tired, Jesus gave me rest.

When I needed love, Jesus held me close.

When I was sad, Jesus caught my tears.

When I was discouraged, Jesus encouraged me.

When I stumbled, Jesus steadied my feet.

When I was lonely, Jesus comforted me.

When I fell, Jesus picked me up.

When I needed a Savior, Jesus died for me.

“Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you. I’ve called your name. You’re mine. When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you. When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down. When you’re between a rock and a hard place, it won’t be a dead end— Because I am God, your personal God, The Holy of Israel, your Savior” (Isaiah 43:1-3, MSG).

With a track record record like that, why would I ever doubt Jesus’s faithfulness?

My Personal Prayer for You

Lord Jesus, thank You for being with us in the difficulties of our lives. For all the times You’ve rescued us, held us, loved us, and filled us with your hope and peace, we are so grateful. When we’re in over our heads, You’re there. When we feel like we’re going down for the last time, You pull us up. Teach us to trust You more and more and to run from discouragement when we’re between a rock and a hard place. With You, there are no dead ends–only endless grace and possibilities. Thank You, Jesus! Rebecca Barlow Jordan”

(c) 2016 Rebecca Barlow Jordan Used with Permission All Rights Reserved  rebeccabarlowjordan.com

Leave a Reply

