Just Listen

Shhhhh – just be quiet and listen. Familiar words to someone who used to be a chatterbox. While it’s important for us to listen to those around us, it is of the utmost importance to be quiet and listen to God. Today’s devotional by Holley Gerth encourages us to be quiet for awhile and just listen to what God is saying.

 

I sit on the porch of my room at the Keeter Center and stare at the hills in the distance. I’ve come here to find quiet because I’ve been in a season of noise. So many voices. So much to do. Can you relate?

My natural tendency when life gets loud is to try harder. I act like my efforts are a megaphone that can get me the affirmation and attention I think I need. But here in this place God reminds me what He wants most is for me to simply listen.

So I pull out my journal and surrender to the stillness…

God whispers that I’m loved. He reassures me I’m not alone. He tells me He has a plan for my life. He promises I’m going to be okay. He says I don’t have to make anything happen because obedience is success. Slowly the lies I’ve been hearing are replaced by the truth I desperately need.

You might think I journal regularly since I’m a writer. And I used to in my childhood. But these days it seems all my words are for public reading. As I head home from my trip, I know that has to change. So now each morning I begin my day by taking time to listen. And it has made a huge difference.incourage-Chalkboard-Globe-e1444830439991

Because when I don’t listen I think I need to have all the answers. When I don’t listen I think the world rests on my shoulders. When I don’t listen anxiety and fear chase me until I’m weary. When I don’t listen I don’t have anything worthwhile to say to others.

I am not called to be a writer first–I’m called to be a listener. Then my role is simply to pass on what I hear. And whatever you do, you are called to be a listener too. It’s only as we hear God’s heart that we can encourage each other. It’s only as we hear God’s heart that we can remember what’s true. It’s only as we hear God’s heart that we find the courage we need for what He’s calling us to do.

I’m sharing a gentle challenge today: Wherever you are, pause for just a few moments and ask, “God, what do You want to speak to my heart today?” Write down what He whispers to you in His still, small voice (it will probably be through His Word). Then share that truth with someone else in some way today.

We don’t need any more noise in our lives; we just all need to know the God who speaks to us with love every single day. “Call to Me and I will answer you” {Jer. 33:3}. 

 

(c) 2015 Holley Gerth Used with permission  http://holleygerth.com/when-life-gets-loud/

One thought on “Just Listen

  1. This was of great value to me… to see “quiet and listen” from a different point of view; as I have written on this topic myself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

