Gossip

I was listening to an online class last night, and the subject for the evening was about the power of our words to hurt or to heal. The speaker quoted the following poem, and I thought it was worth repeating here. I could not find the author of the poem.  If you’ve been wounded by gossip it is our prayer that God will heal your heart and you can find peace and forgive the one who wounded you. If you are guilty of gossiping we pray that God will convict you, grant you the gift of repentance, and give you grace to make things right.  Let’s all think about the gravity of the issue the writer is addressing as we read this brief poem and ask God to help us guard our tongues.

My name is Gossip.
I have no respect for justice.
I maim without killing.
I break hearts and ruin lives.
I am cunning and malicious and gather strength with age.

The more I am quoted the more I am believed.
I flourish at every level of society.
My victims are helpless.
They cannot protect themselves against me because I have no name and no face.

To track me down is impossible.
The harder you try, the more elusive I become.
I am nobody’s friend.
Once I tarnish a reputation, it is never the same.
I topple governments and ruin marriages.
I ruin careers and cause sleepless nights, heartache and indigestion.
I spawn suspicion and generate grief.

I make innocent people cry in their pillows.
Even my name hisses.

I AM CALLED GOSSIP.

Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

