God’s Word

Today’s devotional is reposted from Roy Lessin’s blog. Enjoy!

Firm-Foundation-3Your eternal word, O LORD, stands firm in heaven. Your faithfulness extends to every generation, as enduring as the earth you created. Your regulations remain true to this day, for everything serves your plans. Psalm 119:89-91 (NLT)

God is not a politician. His kingdom does not rise or fall upon polling results. He does not flip-flop on what He has declared. He does not need to rewrite the Scriptures to make them more appealing to each new generation. The truth that God spoke to the Baby Boomers is the same truth He speaks to today’s Millennials, and He will continue to speak the same truth to each succeeding generation until the Lord’s return. To each generation the devil has asked the same question, “Has God (really) said you must not…?”

Today, God is not having a problem with His word. His word stands firm, sure, certain, and unshakeable. It has been settled in the heavens before the generations began to live upon earth. In every generation there are those who have trusted God’s word, those who have rejected it, and those who have walked away from it. Here is an important question we all need to ask, “Is God’s word as settled in my heart as it is in His?” If you are unsure or have doubts of any kind regarding God’s word, may I suggest the following prayer…

“Dear God, I bring to You my doubts and uncertainties, and I ask You to establish my heart upon the foundation of Your word. By faith, I want to settle it forever that Your word is eternal, sure and steadfast in me. May Your word be the rock I build my life upon, the light I fix my hope upon, and the pathway I set my feet upon. Thank You that Your faithfulness extends to me as it has to every generation, and that Your word will never fail me, no matter what may come, or what others may say. Amen.”

(c) 2015 Roy Lessin Used with Permission http://www.meetmeinthemeadow.com/2015/05/gods-word-in-you-part-1-of-2/

Leave a Reply

