Not I but Christ

Today’s devotional by Roy Lessin reminds us to focus on the one in whom our strength lies to accomplish what we cannot do on our own.

“When it comes to Kingdom living and Kingdom work, I am thankful Jesus didn’t say, “You can do this.” What He did say was, “Without Me (Apart from Me) you can do nothing.” (John 15:5 NKJV)

The Apostle Paul did not say, “I can do all things.” He knew better. What he could boldly say was, “I can do all things through Christ who gives me the strength.” (Philippians 4:13 NLT)

One of the most freeing things about living a Kingdom life and doing Kingdom work is knowing that it can’t be done apart from Jesus. When Jesus asks you to be something or do something in a Kingdom way, He is calling you to Himself. What is impossible for you to do, is possible for Him.  If you can be something or do something apart from Him, you are not living a Kingdom life, bringing forth Kingdom fruit, or doing Kingdom work.

In the early 80’s I lost my ability to speak normally. I was devastated! I withdrew from everything publicly that required me to speak. I even quit answering the phone. Years passed and my voice disorder never left.

One day, during a church service, the thought came to me, “What if you were behind the pulpit today as the preacher?” The thought sent me into a panic attack. “That’s impossible,” I thought, “There is no way I could ever do that.” Two weeks after that experience, one of the pastors of that same church asked me if I would speak during an upcoming service. I heard the still small voice of the Lord saying, “Do not say “no” if I am saying “yes.”

Several weeks later, while driving to church to bring the morning message, the thought came to me, “I have nothing to offer.” In a moment, I heard the Lord reply, “You have Me.” I knew beyond any doubt, that I did indeed have all that I needed.

Many times since then, the Lord has had me say “yes” to a speaking invitation, and each time I renew my faith in God’s promise, and each time I have found Him to be more than enough.

What is the Lord asking of you? Perhaps it is a step of obedience in Kingdom living. Is Jesus asking you bless someone you cannot bless? He can!
He is the one who sends the rain upon the just and the unjust. (Matthew 5:45)

Is Jesus asking you to love someone you do not love? He does!
He even loved those who walked away from Him. (Mark 10:21-22)

Is Jesus asking you to forgive someone you will not forgive? He will!
He forgave those who afflicted Him and drove the nails into His body.  (Luke 23:34)

Today, is your confidence in the Lord, and in Him alone? Are you carrying His “yes” in your heart? Let Him be in you and do through you all that His Kingdom requires…He can do this! He is more than enough!”

(c)2015 Roy Lessin  Used with permission  http://www.meetmeinthemeadow.com/2015/02/you-can-do-this/

Leave a Reply

